BIPP – Scottish Photographer of the Year Award

BIPP Competition

Category – Advertising

Taken: 8th March/1st of April 2015

Title: What you have to do, what you want to do

Abbie McCann

I will be submitting this image into the BIPP competition for the ‘Scottish Photographer Of The Year’ award.

This image was taken within the month of March 2015. The reason why I have chosen to submit this image into the BIPP competition is because this is my most recent work therefore I feel this is my strongest, as it shows a variety of different photographic skills that I have developed over the BA course as this is four images composited together to create the one image. There is also a creative concept behind the image, which I feel will interest the judging panel for this competition.

The purpose of this image is to show a man doing something that doesn’t interest him (such as food shopping) Then looking at something that interests him ( The ultimate attraction) which shows him looking at his iPhone with something that interests him more displayed on the screen. I wanted to make sure that the image on the screen tied in with the overall image in the background and foreground. I felt the food aisles in the coop would connect well with the aisles in a bowling alley. In post-production I wanted to combine all these elements together and create a surreal atmospheric feel to the image as I wanted the viewer to think twice about this image.

The reasoning behind entering this image for the Scottish Photographer of the Year award as I feel this image shows potential for the advertising industry as it could be used for a variety of different campaigns, such as advertising iPhones, showing the contrast between a new piece of technology and an old sport or the fact so many people can order their food shopping online using their iPhones. This could be a promotion campaign for the coop or advertising ten pin bowling. This is the main reason why I have submitted this image, to make the viewer think about the concept behind the image or to let them decide on their own, what they want the concept to be. I am aiming to achieve this reaction from the judging panel at the BIPP.

Leave a comment